setrcoupon.blogg.se

Blue collar brilliance
Blue collar brilliance






blue collar brilliance

So logically, my first thought upon reading Rose's essay was to be in denial, not having come to terms with the divisionary caste system that has dominated American society for so long.įollowing the days after my initial read reality slowly crept in – no doubt due to my ruminating thoughts – and I realized my very own "Blue-Collar Brilliance" was being scrutinized and found wanting by employers. One veteran consultancy agent even told me he was struggling to find employment beyond a Help Desk for many of the veterans he works with that did not have college degrees. Instead, the reception that awaited me was one of many, let's keep in touch. My understanding was that based on my time invested in preparing, dedication and work ethic I would be able to seek out the employment I felt a calling to perform, and my substantive merits and accolades would speak on my behalf and allow me to plead my case in front of hiring managers. In it, Mike Rose condenses years of research into a thirty-minute read indented to grab the attention of fellow scholars because bringing fellow academics into the conversation is a crucial step in challenging the current status quo and creating a shift toward greater recognition of the intelligence found in the working class. "Blue Collar Brilliance" is an essay meant to question assumptions about intelligence, work, and social class.

blue collar brilliance

Criticizing Mike Rose for writing "Blue-Collar Brilliance" meant I did not have to accept my daftness and holding on to my flawed ideal was acceptable. Intelligence is closely associated with formal education-the type of schooling a person has, how much and how long-and most people seem to move comfortably from that notion to a belief that work requiring less schooling requires less intelligence.








Blue collar brilliance